happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The (Birthday) Gift of Time

Well, today is my 25th birthday. I can't believe I started this diary when I was 14! I had no idea that I would keep this thing up for this long.

Today was a good day. We pretty much did the whole "birthday party" thing yesterday since we didn't want to party on a school night. Yesterday, I went out to dinner with my family and had a great time drinking with my cousin (the one who is in the Army and just got back from a year's deployment in Korea) at the bar in the restaurant while we waited for a table. I'm usually the only one drinking in my family, so it was nice having someone sharing a few with me. Hey, even my mom and her bff (who is basically like my aunt) joined in with beer and Bloody Mary's! Pretty cool.

After a very expensive dinner (which my cousin footed the ENTIRE bill for, despite our protests!), we went back to the house and did the whole cake and presents thing. Boy, do I ever love a chocolate cake. After that huge dinner and cake, I was so sleepy that I was literally the first person to call it quits and go to bed around 10:45. I'm getting old now, what do you want? I can't stay up late like I used to!

My birthday fell conveniently on Day Light Savings this year, so I got the gift of time! At midnight, we turned our clocks back an hour, so I gained an extra hour of time. :)

The next morning, we all slept in a little, and then we got up and had a breakfast of cinnamon rolls, coffee, scrambled eggs, grits, bacon, and sausage. Yes, I was SO FULL after eating all of that, but it was delicious.

After breakfast, we all got ready to head to this town about 30 miles away to go to this Revolutionary War reenactment. Not my first pick of a birthday activity, but I couldn't think of anything else to do and my cousin is a HUGE history buff, so he was really interested in going, as were my mom and her bff. It was pretty cool seeing people dressed up in Revolutionary era uniforms reenact The Battle of Camden using muskets and mortars (kind of like cannons?), though it sucked seeing the Colonial Army/American militia get their asses handed to them by the Red Coats. Yeah, that was NOT a good battle for us. Oh well, at least we won the war.

After that, we came back home and ordered a pizza and watched As Good As it Gets on tv while just talking and hanging out. I drank a beer and 2 glasses (maybe 3?) of red wine. It felt good.

By the way, I looked back at last year's birthday entry, and I am very excited and pleased to say that I was wrong. I had said that my future held nothing exciting for me, just more of the same terrible loneliness that I was so used to. I had no idea that things we would be so different in a year's time.

For once in my life, I have a boyfriend who loves me (obviously, not all was lost after my wine-fueled Halloween night argument). He isn't just any boyfriend, either, he is someone I have wanted for a long time but I didn't think anything more would ever happen between us. Oh, how things change. Who would have ever guessed that a guy I met wayyy back in 8th grade would come back into my life 8 years later and become one of my closest friends, then a "friend with benefits" (who gave me my first kiss and eventually "popped my cherry"), and then my first EVER boyfriend??? Like seriously, does that happen?? Well, it did.

For once in my life, I don't feel that unshakable sadness or loneliness. Instead, I feel loved and wanted, which is all I've ever asked for. I just can't believe it has finally happened.

For once in my life, I am truly happy. Happy 25th birthday to me, and may this joy and happiness continue!

9:36 p.m. - Sunday, Nov. 03, 2013

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart