happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insignificant

I survived a very long and tiring work day. As predicted, I stood up the entire day, only getting to sit for (maybe) 10 minutes to inhale a subway sandwich. My legs are killing me. My bonesss hurt. I need a deep tissue massage, stat.

In other news, LUNAR ECLIPSE TONIGHT! How fun! I love anything having to do with space. When I learned we would be able to see Jupiter in the night sky with our naked eyes because its orbit put it much closer to Earth, I ran outside the first chance I got to gaze upon the largest planet in our solar system. You can still see Jupiter, by the way. It's not as bright as it was, but you can still see it. Go take a look before it disappears back into space.

You know, sometimes it's easy to forget that we live on a planet that is suspended in outer space. It's actually kind of freaky.

I always like pictures of Earth as viewed from space. They always makes me think about how all of this stuff got here. How did we get here??? God???

It gives you perspective. I've always thought it would be so cool to go to the moon and look back at Earth. The perspective you would gain from that...we are just a tiny planet in a galaxy of billions of stars in a universe made up of billions of galaxies. And I'm just one person on this tiny planet. This tiny planet has been around for 4 billion years, but I'll only be here for about 80 years (hopefully more). That's a blink of the eye with all things considered...insignificant.

10:59 p.m. - Monday, Dec. 20, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart