happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Exam and Teens/Young Adults These Days

Still studying for my first final exam tomorrow...I've been working on the study guide all day! I haven't even left the house all day, which is really weird for me because I usually get cabin fever really bad and have to go SOMEWHERE. Not today. I'm just finishing the study guide, so now I have to print it out and try to commit it to memory without falling asleep. I usually like to sit on my bed while studying, which makes that last bit about not falling asleep very difficult.

Tomorrow is also my mom's birthday, so after our exams, my sister and I are going to take her to a nice lunch, just the three of us, so that'll be very nice. I don't have to go in to work until 5, so I'll be able to spend a lot of time with her. Not that I don't spend a lot of time with her. If I'm not at school or work, I'm usually with her and my sister. We are a tight-knit group. That's how we roll. I was watching Dr. Phil the other day, and this mom and her teenage daughter were on there because the mom was concerned about the choices her daughter had been making (blue streaks in the hair, wearing revealing clothing, etc), and the teenager was saying stuff like, "you're ruining my life!". I really must be getting older because that just sounded so childish. Your life is ruined because you can't put blue streaks in your hair? Okaaaay then.

A lot of teenagers are not close with their parents...and would probably actually prefer to be away from them. Not true for me. My dad died in '97, when I was 8, and ever since, my mom and my sister and I have been extremely close. So close that my sister and I both didn't want to move out when it came time to go to college. Neither did our mom. Since our dad isn't here, she relies heavily on us for company, support, etc. Sure, she has friends, but if we moved out, she would be extremely lonely. That's why we haven't moved out. We don't want to. We would much rather be at home in our warm, comfy beds with our loving mother than in some stupid dorm with silly people who only care about themselves, the party scene, and getting drunk. Of course, not everyone who lives in a dorm is like that. Just sayin'. I always have trouble relating to the people in my classes because they just have different values than I do at the moment. "Hey, what did you do this weekend? Did you get sh**faced? Yeah, so did I, it was great!". I can't relate to that, and I don't want to.

12:00 a.m. - Monday, Dec. 07, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart