happyone's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yearly Update

Wow, it's been a while since my last entry. Here's a little update for you!

In my last entry, I talked about wanting to be healthier for my 30th birthday and a trip to Thailand. Well, I'm happy to say that I did just that! I lost about 10 lbs. before my birthday and the trip. I did that by tracking my food daily in the MyFitnessPal app and Nick and I committed to walking around our neighborhood at least once a week. I'm proud to say that we now walk around our neighborhood (a total of 1.18 miles) at least 3 times a week.

I had a health screening at work recently, and all of my results came back lower than last year's! My blood pressure, my cholesterol, my triglycerides, etc. all went down! My triglycerides are still a little high, but they still went down. My diabetic test (A1C) also went from 5.6 (.1 away from prediabetes) to 5.0! I was very happy to see that since diabetes is rampant on both sides of my family. I still have a long way to go in terms of losing weight, but I'm happy I at least lost a good 10 lbs. My weight loss has plateaued since the beginning of the year and I've been maintaining in the low 230s. I'm currently 232. If I ever want to have a baby, I'd need to at least be under 200. I'm starting to feel nervous because Nick is already 31 and I'll be 31 this year in November...if I don't lose the weight soon, I could potentially not be a mother until I'm 32 or 33. I need to get serious about the weight loss, but I don't really know what else to do besides the app and walking. Plus, I still sometimes binge on chips and salsa or popcorn. I still eat and drink too much on the weekends. I still LOVE Jimmy John's...sigh. It's hard being healthy.

Anyways, the trip to Thailand was amazing! We were there for about 10 days. The house we stayed in was awesome, with 3 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, a huge living room, small kitchen, and huge outdoor patio right on the ocean. It was such a beautiful view and it felt magical sitting out there, feeling the breeze. Everyone warned me how hot Thailand was going to be, but I really didn't think it was that bad. We stayed in Bang Saray, which is on the coast, so the coastal breeze probably kept it cooler. We did take a 2 day trip into Bangkok and THAT was hot! I'm from the south in the US, so for me to say it was hot, it was REALLY hot. I'm talking I got a sunburn (with sunscreen on!) in just 15 minutes of sun. The sun was pretty brutal.

We went to a beach on a Thai Navy base and swam in the ocean. We went snorkeling off of some islands. We saw many ancient ruins in Ayutthaya and Pattaya, and we even got to play dress up in traditional looking Thai clothes. It was while we were dressed up at one of these ruins that my sister got engaged! We knew it was coming, but it was still very exciting. I did end up getting sick from something I ate for about half a day, but I recovered pretty quick. The rest of the food we had was delicious! My favorite thing was probably the rice soup that we ate daily for breakfast (a soupy rice mixture with an egg, scallions, red pepper flakes, and sausage). I also had a lot of good fried fish and grilled meats on sticks. Overall, the trip was amazing. We are welcome back any time, so maybe it won't just be a "once in a lifetime" trip! I'd definitely go back some day.

So it is currently about 6 months after the Thailand trip and guess what...my sister is already married! She wanted to have a spring wedding, so we made it happen. She got married on 4/21/19 and she actually used the same venue I did! At first, she was talking about doing a small ceremony in the mountains, but the logistics of that just didn't work out. My mom and I had suggested using the same venue as me from the start, but both her and her now husband were against it. They were trying to find a very cheap way to do a wedding and she didn't even want a real wedding dress at first! Then one day my mom told her this wedding dress shop was having a sale, so they went "just to look". She ended up finding a dress she loved, and that changed her whole idea of what wedding she wanted. She wanted an actual venue with a real ceremony and reception to go along with that dress. Of course, her dress happened to be the same designer as my dress (Maggie Sottero), but of course hers was on sale for $500. Mine cost $1200!

Her wedding went off without a hitch. We had a beautiful ceremony outside and the photographer got some great pictures. Her photographer was much better than mine...oh well. Nick and I had a great time dancing to all of the music at the reception. I couldn't help but notice that my sister's new husband was absent for most of the reception...he spent most of it out in the parking lot with some of his Army friends he had invited. My sister's husband is not a very social guy (he literally won't talk in social situations unless directly spoken to) and he does not like being around a lot of people. He can barely stand being around a small group of people for very long. I felt bad that half of my sister's guests hung out in the parking lot for most of the reception. She asked him after the wedding, "see, wasn't the wedding worth it?" and he said "not really..." and made her cry. He should have made something up instead of saying something like that! He's bordering on extremely anti-social.

So anyways, yes, my little sister is now married. Her and her husband also bought a house together back in November, so they already live together. It's so weird that we're both married with husbands and houses now! I feel bad that our mom now lives alone (my sister had been living with her previously), but my sister lives right around the corner. I'm the one who lives an hour and a half away, but that still isn't too bad.

Let's see, what else...oh yeah, remember that friend I used to talk about all the time in this journal back in the day? The one who always competed with me to show she was better? Lo and behold, her and her boyfriend are actually coming up this weekend to visit. We only very briefly saw each other at my sister's wedding, and she genuinely expressed that she was sorry she had missed my wedding (she was in graduate school at the time). Her boyfriend is very much into craft beer like Nick, so she reached out after the wedding saying they should come up one weekend. I gave her some dates and she picked this weekend. I haven't hung out with her or even talked to her in years, so this'll be interesting. I think she'll be on her best behavior because she's finally content in life (hopefully). She just graduated from school and started a job making $120,000 (more than Nick and I combined by A LOT) and she has a serious boyfriend who most likely will be proposing to her soon, so she's finally happy. Her boyfriend is a lawyer, so they're both successful and make good money (though she by far makes way more than he does).

So, it'll be interesting to see how this weekend goes. We're going to take them to the 4 breweries in our area. I like them all! Good food and drinks all around!

12:19 p.m. - Thursday, May. 16, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart