happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Letdown

So far in life, in my 23 years of life, I have found that a lot of people are essentially selfish. Big shocker, right? Not. Of course, we all can be selfish at times because we are just a single person with our own single perspective and biases. We may try to "put ourselves in someone else's shoes", or whatnot, but at the very end of the day, we have to look out for number one. Too bad some people do that 24/7.

Over the years, because I am a good listener, people want to do nothing but talk about themselves to me. This includes friends, family members, even strangers. They all go on and on all day long about their lives and whatever problems they're having, and I offer whatever practical, down-to-earth advice I may have. So, what's wrong with being a great listener? Nothing at all, it's just that people never actually want to hear about my life or offer me advice about my problems. I give, and give, and give, and get practically nil in return. While I'm glad others are comfortable enough and trust me enough to unload and divulge all of this personal information to me, it becomes draining and exhausting not getting the same in return. People just don't care about me. I make them feel better or whatever, and then they're done with me for the time being. They'll come back when they need help again. It's almost like I'm a therapist and my patients only come to me when they need help, otherwise there is no need for me. Sadly, I'm not a therapist, and these people aren't my patients!

It sounds like I'm contradicting myself because I'm saying that people are selfish and only talk about themselves, when here I am, talking about myself and whining. I just feel so unwanted and unloveable sometimes...I just don't get why people don't seem to care about me. My little sister, on the other hand, texts with her friends non-stop all day long because they want to talk to her and hear from her. She sends about 5,000 texts a month! I barely get to 2,000 in a month. People just don't want to talk to me unless it's about them and their drama.

People are disappointing.

11:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2012

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart