happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gay Marriage.

I must be growing up because I've formed an opinion on a popular controversial issue, an opinion that differs from my mother's. Growing up, whenever I was asked questions like, "are you a Democrat or Republican?", I automatically responded with whatever my mom's opinion was because I had not yet formed an opinion of my own.

SO...gay marriage. My mom does not support it because it is, "weird and abnormal", while I've decided I don't have a problem with it. That's not to say I'm 100% comfortable seeing men kiss men or women kiss women (I choose not to think about the specifics), but they are human beings too. Don't they have the right to be happy even if they are attracted to their own sex? And why can't they have a marriage? Why does it have to be called a "union"? I'm just trying to put myself in their shoes and see how I would feel if the way I honestly felt was considered "weird and abnormal", and if I was prevented from being with the person I love just because it does not conform to the societal norm. It's just not fair. They are human and should have the same exact rights as everybody else. Doesn't the Declaration of Independence say that all men are created equal and that they are endowed with certain unalienable rights, among those life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness? Ohhhhh, but gays getting married, that's not what they meant by "all men are created equal", right? Ohh nooo, that's not what they had in mind. After all, slaves were only 3/5 of a person, weren't they? If they didn't truly believe "all men are created equal", then why did they even say it??? I mean, really, by "all men", they meant all white, Christian, heterosexual men who owned property, right? Why didn't they just say that? Ohhh, I guess that wouldn't sound very good, would it? No, it wouldn't.

Well PISH POSH. A person is a person is a person. Black, white, gay, Christian, Muslim, and on and on and on.

Why can't people just accept other people for the way they are even if it is different and uncomfortable??? The world would have so much more peace if they did. People wouldn't be blowing up each other because they believe in a different god or forbidding other people from getting married. Sigh.

9:59 p.m. - Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart