happyone

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why are we so mean?

I was just watching the Michael Moore movie Sicko, and though I've already seen it, it revived some resentment in me.

Americans are so greedy that we will deny people health care to line our own pockets. A former health care advisor in the film said herself that whoever doled out the most denials got a cash bonus. How sick is that? You denied the most people from receiving medical treatment so we're going to reward you? Of course, those insurance companies don't see it as denying them help, just payment. They can rationalize anything in their minds to make what they're doing right. I don't know why this bothers me so much; I'm definitely not a politics or government type of person, far from it, in fact. It's just that some of the stories from real people featured in the film are really terrible. A lot of people died because their insurance companies denied payment. I don't know, it just seems like it's saying something about humanity when you will let a fellow human being die because he doesn't have money to pay you. Isn't that wrong? Why can't we be like Canada? They all take care of each other, no questions asked. That's how it should be. In America, it's all about, "you've got to do it all yourself; you can't depend on others". As much as I love the country I live in, there are some parts I don't like and am not proud of.

12:44 a.m. - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

warpednormal
loveherwell
curious-me
lostasyou
college-kid
myheavyheart