today.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some Thoughts for You

So, I just completely gorged myself on Hungry Howie's pizza and 3 Cheeser bread. So much for trying to eat healthy!

I get my Statistics test back tomorrow...I really put my math disabled brain into overdrive to solve those problems. Man, who would have thought that one day I would be taking a math class over the summer? What's even more surprising is the fact that I don't think it's that bad. Usually, I would be like, "math? Summer? What???!?!?" and be horrified, but going to math gives me something to do. Last summer was SO BORING because I didn't have a job and I had nothing to do! This summer, I'm working and going to school, so I have some structure. I'm definitely not bored to tears.

Speaking of school, tomorrow I have an appointment with an advisor at the 4 year college I plan on transferring to in order to make sure that all of my classes at the technical college transfer (which they BETTER). You know, sometimes the idea of doing the whole 4 long years of college thing (more if you go to Grad school) just to get some okay job that may not even be available right away brings me down. It makes me think, "why don't I just get some 2 year degree and go to work right now?". But then I remember that people who get the 4 year degree make so much more money over their lifetimes and blah blah blah. College kind of doesn't make sense. You start it when you are 18 years old and you're supposed to declare a major, like you know what you want to do with the rest of your life right then and there. Even when you do declare your major, how do you know you'll like doing that job? What about all those other jobs out there that we WOULD like, but just don't know about? Like, we know what lawyers and doctors do, but what about those jobs that we don't know we would like until we actually try it? You know??? For example, I work at a UPS Store, and when I was thinking of where I wanted to work for a part-time job, I was thinking grocery stores, fast food places, clothing stores, etc. Never would I have ever thought, "hey, what about that UPS place?". I only got this job because my mom happened to be shipping some wires back to the cable company and saw that they were hiring. I gave it a shot, and I love working there! If I had read a description of the job, I probably would have hated it and said no way! You just never know until you actually DO IT. That's why the whole declaring a major thing annoys me because how are we supposed to know, right??? Sheesh!

11:35 p.m. - Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

profile

archives

notes

random entry

DiaryLand

other diaries:

swordfern
curious-me
loveherwell
neko-carre
warpednormal
college-kid
myheavyheart
lostasyou